England announce Squad for Commonwealth Championship

18th January 2018, 09:57


England announce Squad for Commonwealth Championship

England have announced their 15-man squad to compete in the 2018 Commonwealth Championship to be held in Moreton Bay, Queensland next month.

Wigan St Pats' Danny Riding has been named as captain, while Cole Walker-Taylor from Wath Brow Hornets is vice captain

The Hornets boast three members of the squad, while Underbank Rangers and St Pats are represented by two players each, and Sam Baggaley from North West Men's League side Orrell St James is the only representative from outside the National Conference League.

The nine-a-side u23s competition will take place across February 23 and 24 February, with fixtures hosted at Dolphin Oval, home of the Redcliffe Dolphins.

England have been drawn in Pool B against Tonga, Samoa, and champions of the 2014 competition, Papua New Guinea, with fixtures to be revealed soon.

Pool A sees Wales, Fiji, Scotland and Australia face off in a race to the knockout stages.

The team hosted a fundraiser on Saturday at Leigh Miners Rangers where over £3,000 was raised towards the cost of the trip.